Endless Possibilities

This week we had free choice for our blog post as long as it is ed-tech related. So what I have decided to do is talk about my learning within the technology so far. It is also why I now advocate for the use of technology within the classroomI think that there are so many benefits with using technology in education. I would like to share some of the things that I have learned and some things to think about when it comes to technology in the classroom. . These are just a few of the things that I have learned throughout this class so far.

1. You may be resistant now but be open-minded.

At first I thought it was a bad combination: education and technology. Now this is totally normal response but I would advise that you learn and look into positive ways to incorporate technology in your students learning. There are so many ways to incorporate it. It is always changing and evolving so it is important to stay up to date.

2. Take the time to learn and work with the different tools

It will be frustrating at first but I think that taking the time to learn the tools is useful. I am amazed at how fast I am catching on to the basics of certain tools. I really struggled at first but I think that after taking the time to learn a few tools and to see how beneficial they can be in the classroom, I was motivated to learn more. I am always excited to tell my friends and family the new tool I learned about in class.

3.There are a variety of tools and tools within tools.

There are tools for EVERYTHING! If you want to make a video there are so many ways to make a video. If you want to screencast there are several tools to do that. If you want to give your students quizzes in class for assessment there are several ways to do so. The possibilities are endless. It is almost overwhelming at first to see how many different tools you can use. AND the great thing about the Internet is you can always find reviews on each tools or app to help you utilize it in appropriate ways or to not even bother with it. There are tools to create portfolio’s, for classroom management, for assessment, to connect, to show learning and so much more. In using technology in the classroom the SAMR model is great to see the different levels.

4. Take time to learn something new using technology based inquiry practices.

Something amazing about ECMP 355 is the fact that you could learn something new using the Internet. Now this is a pretty awesome assignment if you ask me. It has helped me in learning other things as well. I wanted to learn how to use Adobe Photoshop and used Youtube videos to learn (well I am still working on it). You can learn anything and everything from searching the Internet using videos or articles. It is quite a convenient way to learn and I love that you can share your learning on the variety forums of social media.

5. There are so many reasons that technology in the classroom is beneficial. 

Now I could explain the reasons but I think this video says it all.

Cheers!

 

2 thoughts on “Endless Possibilities

Leave a Reply

