Transform your Mind, Transform you Life

When we were asked to search ourselves on the Internet I honestly thought I wouldn’t find much. In reality, I didn’t actually find much. From the time that I started in the Education I was continually reminded “You need to watch what you put on social media, administrators will be looking at that.” I was always terrified of putting anything on social media because I didn’t want something inappropriate on there. I was always critical of the people that put anything and everything on the Internet as if there would be no consequences. I often cringe at people who post drunken pictures from the weekend, share inappropriate posts, or write a post giving way more details than I would like to know about them. I didn’t want to have that kind of Digital Identity that could be used against me someday.

I would often use my social media as a way of creeping on people or a more appropriate (less creepy term) “cyber sleuthing.” This is a skill that I am not sure if I should be proud about or not!

So here is what I found out about myself on the Internet. There is honestly not much, my blog didn’t even come up! I used some different searches. I did one search with just my name in which I found my Facebook and a few of my recent posts.

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-4-05-20-pm screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-4-03-45-pm

Then I put in Becca Bennett Regina there again my Facebook came up and my Twitter.

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-7-41-11-pm

Then I put in Becca Bennett Climax (my hometown) I found the obituary for my Grandpa Vance Bennett as well as my Grandma Donna, in which my name was mentioned in.

Then I put in Becca Bennett Frontier School (the school I went to). Here I found a introductory letter for the parents. I worked as an Educational Assistant there from September 2013 to June of 2014. In the Fall of 2014, I started my Education here at the University of Regina. This letter mentions my name in telling the parents about me no longer assisting in the school.

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-4-09-32-pm

Alongside these searches I have also found many other “Becca Bennett’s” who have Youtube channels, LinkedIn profile. There was also a My Life profile. I didn’t know what this was until I looked at it further. Instead of me trying to explain it, here is a excerpt from the website section “About Us.”

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-4-30-26-pm screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-4-31-02-pm

Some unrelated posts was there was a cosmetic line that is called BECCA. There was also someone with the exact same name at the University of Georgia who has a Political Science Degree.

I searched images as well and was unable to find any pictures of me.

I did some cyber sleuthing and it is amazing how easy it is to find people on the Internet. I think that this is important for students to learn about Digital Citizenship. The things that you put on the Internet, good or bad, will stay there and anyone and everyone is able to find it.

Throughout my time at the University of Regina I have realized that social media forums don’t need to be used for displaying crude and wild behavior but rather a way of professional networking. The classes I have taken have shifted my ideas about how I look and use social media. It is a slow process of getting used to the use of Twitter, blogging and networking but I am getting there.

It does scare me to think of how the Internet has evolved in the last couple of years. It is the topic of conversation at supper, it is something we do when we get bored, it is how we interact with friends and family as well as strangers. But if we can help students understand that it can be a system of networking, learning and connecting, I think that it can be very beneficial.

“Technology will not replace great teachers but technology in the hands of great teacher can be transformational.”       -George Couros

This quote really encompasses the fact that, yes, technology is a apart of our world and our students, so let’s embrace it. Technology will transform the classroom into something amazing if it is used and taught in engaging and positive ways.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

